20 Apr 2014

WBC Asian Boxing Council held its annual awards to honor the top boxers and promoters for 2013. WBC Vice-President, ABCO President and WBC Muaythai Chairman Pol. General Kovid Bhakdibhumi delivered the keynote speech that emphasized the need for safety standards that included fair match-ups.
WBC Muaythai and ABCO Secretary General Patrick Cusick gave a report on the current status of WBC Muaythai and the Asian Asian Boxing Council; and ABCO Executive Secretary Colonel Damrong Simakajornboon reported on the past year?s boxing activities that included 45 championship events (24 WBC Asia, 19 WBC Asia Continental and 2 WBC Asia Female) in 8 countries of Asia-Pacific region in 2013.
The outstanding boxer of the year went to WBC World Superflyweight champion Srisaket Sor Rungvisai of Thailand.
Srisaket will defend his world title against the mandatory challenger Carlos Cuadras on May 31 in Mexico. His promoter-manager Surachart Pisitwutthinan was awarded Promoter of the Year for successfully promoting two WBC world title contests and six WBC Asia championship events.
The other WBC Asiam Boxing Council awards for 2013 were:
Boxers awards:
1. WBC Asia champion of the year: Nawaphon Por Chokchai (Thailand) WBC Asia flyweight champion
2. WBC Asia Continental champion of the year: Sirimongkol Singwancha (Thailand) WBC Asia Continental welterweight champion
3. WBC Asia Female Boxer of the year: Rika Matsumoto (Japan) WBC Asia Female light flyweight champion
4. WBC Asia prospect of the year: Rex Tso (Hong Kong) WBC Asia Continental super flyweight champion
5. WBC Asia Fight of the year: Lionel Legada (Philippines) and Lionel Mark Duran (Philippines) for WBC Asia Continental flyweight championship bout.
6. Exemplary Boxer of the year: Myung-goo Yuh (Korea) WBC Asia super flyweight champion
Promoters and other awards:
1. WBC Asia Pacific Region Promoter of the Year : Brico Santig (Philippines)
2. WBC Asia China Zone Promoter of the Year: Liu Gang (China)
3. WBC Asia China SAR Promoter of the Year: Jay Lau (Hong Kong)
4. WBC Asia Central Asia Promoter of the Year: Yerik Jailauov (Kazakhstan)
5. WBC Asia Australasia Promoter of the Year: Peter Maniatis (Australia)
6. WBC Asia Youth Championship Promoter of the year: Virat Vachirarattanawongsi (Thailand)
7. WBC Asia Female Promoter of the Year: Pariyakorn Rattanasuban (Thailand)
8. WBC Asia Distinguished Promoter of the Year: Kokiet Panichyarom (Thailand)
9. WBC Asia Honorary Promoter of the year: Narongwas Buamas (Thailand), Mr.Johnny Elorde (Philippines) and Mr.Bebot Elorde (Philippines)
10. WBC Asia Supporter of the year: Naris Singhawungcha (Thailand)


Asian Boxing Council © 2008 . ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
29 Phaholyothin Soi 3, Phaholyothin Rd., Samsen Nai, Phayathai, Bangkok 10400